Skip to main content
SearchLoginLogin or Signup


Published onFeb 27, 2019

Toril Aalberg is a professor at the Department of Sociology and Political Science at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology Trondheim. She is the author or editor of eight books, some in conjunction with others. These include Challenges to Representative Democracy (1999), Achieving Justice (2003), Communicating Politics (2007), How Media Inform Democracy (2012) and Populist Political Communication in Europe (2016).

Ian Anstice ( runs the Public Libraries News website (, which is the main source of information on the sector and is used regularly by library staff, users, politicians and the media. He has been working as a professional librarian since 1994 and was recently made an honorary fellow of the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals. He is currently a library manager in North West England.

Philip Augar is a former banker and the author of several books and many articles in the Financial Times and other publications. He is a visiting fellow at the Institute of Historical Research and has a doctorate in history.

Rodney Benson is a professor in the Department of Media, Culture, and Communication at New York University. He is the author of Shaping Immigration News: A French-American Comparison (2013), editor (with Erik Neveu) of Bourdieu and the Journalistic Field (2005) and co-author (with Matthew Powers) of Public Media and Political Independence: Lessons for the Future of Journalism from Around the World (2011).

Aeron Davis is a professor of political communication and co-director of PERC at Goldsmiths, University of London. His work crosses media sociology, political communications and economic sociology. He is the author of Public Relations Democracy (2002), The Mediation of Power (2007), Political Communications and Social Theory (2010) and Promotional Cultures (2013).

Des Freedman is a professor of media and communications at Goldsmiths, University of London. He is the author of The Contradictions of Media Power (2014) and The Politics of Media Policy (2008) and co-author (with James Curran and Natalie Fenton) of Misunderstanding the Internet (2016). He is the former chair of the Media Reform Coalition.

Wayne Hope is an associate professor in the School of Communication Studies, Auckland University of Technology. He co-edits the on-line journal Political Economy of Communication, and his most recent book is Time, Communication and Global Capitalism (2016).

Ken Jones is the senior policy officer at the National Union of Teachers. He was previously a professor of education at Goldsmiths, where he is now an emeritus professor. The second edition of his book Education in Britain was published in 2015.

Bong-hyun Lee has been a journalist in Korea since 1990. For most of his career, he has covered business issues. In 2012, he completed a doctorate in Goldsmiths’ Media and Communications Department.

Colin Leys is an emeritus professor of political studies at Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada, and an honorary research professor at Goldsmiths. His most recent books are Market Driven Politics: Neoliberal Democracy and the Public Interest (2001) and (with Stewart Player) The Plot against the NHS (2011). He is a member of the executive management team of the Centre for Health and the Public Interest (

Andrew McGettigan lives in London and writes on higher education, philosophy and the arts. He is the author of The Great University Gamble: Money, Markets and the Future of Higher Education (2013). His writing has appeared in the Guardian, the Observer, Times Higher Education, Research Fortnight, London Review of Books and Radical Philosophy. He holds a doctorate in modern European philosophy. He blogs on higher education financing at

Michael Moran is professor of government at Alliance Business School, University of Manchester, and a member of CRESC. With the CRESC unit he has published a number of books, including After the Great Complacence (2011), The End of the Experiment (2014) and What a Waste (2015).

Aristotelis Nikolaidis ( has a PhD in media and communications from Goldsmiths, University of London. His work has been published in Continuum: Journal of Media and Cultural Studies, Feminist Media Studies and Parliamentary Affairs. He currently teaches at Brunel University and the University of Bedfordshire.

Justin Schlosberg is a lecturer in journalism and media in the Department of Film, Media and Cultural Studies at Birkbeck, University of London, and was network fellow at the Edmund J. Safra Center for Ethics, Harvard University, in 2014–2015. He is the author of the forthcoming Media Ownership and Agenda Control (2016) and of Power without Scrutiny: Media, Justice and Accountability (2013). He is the current chair of the Media Reform Coalition.

Henry Silke is a lecturer in journalism in the School of Communication and Culture at the University of Limerick, Ireland. He has recently completed a PhD on the role of media and communications systems in capitalist crises. His other research interests include the political role of media and the potentialities of alternative media groups and movements. He writes and curates for Critical Media Review at

Roger Smith is a visiting professor at London South Bank University and has written extensively on legal aid and human rights. He is a solicitor who has been the director of JUSTICE and the Legal Action Group.

Peter A. Thompson ( is a senior lecturer in the media studies programme at Victoria University of Wellington. His main research interests concern media policy (especially funding mechanisms for public service media) and communication processes in financial markets. Peter is a founding editor of the Political Economy of Communication journal and currently is the vice-chair of the IAMCR Political Economy section.

Janine R. Wedel (; on Twitter at @janinewedel), a social anthropologist, is a university professor in the School of Policy, Government, and International Affairs at George Mason University and currently also affiliated with the Hertie School in Berlin. She is the author of Unaccountable: How the Establishment Corrupted Our Finances, Freedom and Security and Created an Outsider Class (2014) and the award-winning Shadow Elite: How the World’s New Power Brokers Undermine Democracy, Government, and the Free Market (2009).

Karel Williams is professor at Alliance Business School and a director of CRESC, University of Manchester. With the CRESC unit he has published a number of books, including After the Great Complacence (2011), The End of the Experiment (2014) and What a Waste (2015).

Kate Wright is Chancellor’s Fellow in the cultural and creative industries at the University of Edinburgh. Before moving to academia, she was an award-winning BBC journalist, in which role she spent nine years working on the Corporation’s national and international flagship news programmes. She passed her PhD at Goldsmiths in February 2015.


No comments here

Why not start the discussion?